A mountain bike event like Lesotho Sky does not get organised overnight. It takes a few Basotho villages to accomplish and set up one of Africa’s top mountain bike events. We have to appreciate the effort it takes to make this event happen each year. Introducing Lesotho Sky’s finest, the clan.

Christian Schmidt

Managing Director & Founder

Chris completed his primary school in Morija in Lesotho. One of his childhood memories is cruising through Lesotho on a BMX bike and it is his passion for riding that led him to the Lesotho Sky. He holds an Honours Degree in Financial Analysis and Portfolio Management from the University of Cape Town. Changing the world by means of his own ideas, he is the proud founder of this event.

Darol Howes

Race Director & Founder

Darol loves mountain biking, canoeing, surfing and anything else that gets him outside with the potential of a crash to tell his mates about. He has completed 2 cape epics, many canoe marathons and many, many other events. To complicate his interests he is type 1 diabetic and writes a blog ( to inspire and inform other diabetics that the disease is no obstacle. Apart from that he is a qualified Mechatronic engineer. An apparently versatile degree, particularly if you are into organising mountain biking events…

The Lesotho Sky POHO Bell is the ultimate award at the Lesotho Sky Event, you will feel bullish on any singletrack with this trophy behind your name. All that is required is that you complete 3 Lesotho Sky events. That’s +- 1000km with +-27000m of ascent in the #MountainBikeKingdom. No small feat, and one that deserves respect. This is only fitting as “Poho” means “Bull” in Sesotho.

Here are the elite, highly decelerated and well respected men and women of the #mountainbikekingdom; The Lesotho Sky POHO

Phetetso Monese

Teboho Khantsi

Tseko Shelile

Lechesa Tohlang

Malefetsane Lesofe

Paseka Makhebesela

Jonase Machere

Marc Adam

Ntili Lethusang

Sello Moerane

Thabo Mochokocho

McGregor Lebesa

Tumelo Makae

Fourie Rossouw

Nicholas Webb

Kylie Hanekom

Chris Nieuwoudt

Anton Simpson

Dylan Chilcott

Teboho Lenyora

Markus Chiappori

Robbie Powell

Michel De Clippel

Craig Fussell

Alvin Hirner

Thabo Ntloki

Stian Van Blerk

Charles Mansfield

Oluf Heil

Manfred Ismer

Regina Marunde

Tumisang Taabe